Villanelles

“Developed in Italy, where it was the basic pattern for folksongs, the villanelle became very popular in France in the seventeenth century; today, however, it’s seen as a kind of poet’s Mount Everest: You attempt it because it’s there.

The villanelle is a nineteen-line poem of five tercets (three-line stanzas) completed by a quatrain (a four-line stanza). Two lines in the poem repeat throughout the entire poem, in a specific order.

There’s also a rhyme scheme sandwiched in between those repeating lines. It goes aba for the tercets, and ends abaa for the quatrain. As you read, you probably don’t overtly notice the structure, if the villanelle is doing its job.

Here are some famous villanelles:

The Waking, by Theodore Roethke

The River, by Gregory Orr

Do Not Go Gentle into That Good Night, by Dylan Thomas

Here are some villanelles we created:

screen-shot-2017-01-20-at-1-20-41-pm

Through My Eyes
Adriana Gonzalez

Through my eyes
society makes me sick
Alternative Facts are just lies

with Mexican made ties
Every belligerent word is a trick
through my eyes

They don’t realize
with skulls so thick
Alternative Facts are just lies

Aryan blonde hair, blue eyes
The rest quick grab a brick
Through my eyes

We wish we could cut ties
but the noose is thick
Alternative Facts are just lies

We hear them a million times
but still it doesn’t stick
Through my eyes,
Alternative Facts are just lies.

Screen Shot 2016-02-17 at 1.43.00 PM

Almond Brown Eyes
Samar Slaughter

Your almond brown eyes
have me captivated
Don’t be shy

When you look at me that way I surmise
everything will be okay, I’m infatuated
with your almond brown eyes

I won’t tell you any lies
what I say is not fabricated
Don’t be shy

If I stop and stare please forgive me, I apologize
I can’t help but be fascinated
with your almond brown eyes

Almost a year, and you still give me butterflies
For these moments, oh I’ve waited
Please don’t be shy

With each day, you still take me by surprise
Life feels so much better, less complicated
because of your almond brown eyes.
Don’t be shy.

screen-shot-2017-02-07-at-1-30-09-pm

Hangry
Averyonna Henderson

You’re making me angry by saying I’m angry
You always in my face
In fact, I’m feeling incredibly hangry

Sitting in this cold room gives me gangrene
I wish I was off in space
You’re making me angry by saying I’m angry

Give me some hot wings, nice and tangy
Before I spray you with some mace
Because, I’m feeling incredibly hangry

I’m ready to go home, frankly
get the heck out of this place
you’re making me angry by saying I’m angry

You think Im angry, just cuz I’m cranky
But to be honest I feel like I’m losing this race
Maybe I’m just feeling incredibly hangry

I’m just going to sit and stare at you blankly
until I can get out of this place
Cuz you’re making me angry by saying I’m angry
In fact, I’m feeling incredibly hangry

screen-shot-2017-02-07-at-1-31-55-pm

Sleep
Ariell Shaw

Oh my God, I want to sleep
Sleep is like a brand new pair of headphones
If I can’t sleep I’m gonna say bleep

I need a whole heap
uh sleep, my back moans
Oh my God I want to sleep.

I most definitely cannot keep
doing this, staying up late watching TV shows
If I can’t sleep I’m gonna say bleep

In class today, you won’t hear a peep
from me. I’ll be asleep so
dear God give me some sleep.

I need a deep, deep
sleep — or else I’m going to turn into a clone
of myself. If I can’t sleep I’m gonna say bleep.

If I can’t sleep I’ll think a creep
is watching me. I feel the tiredness in my bones
Oh my god I want to sleep!
If I can’t sleep I’m gonna say bleep!

Leave a Reply

