America Poems

Check out the following America Poems from Ms. Murphy’s English class:

screen-shot-2017-02-06-at-10-59-50-am

Country of Beauty
Jocelyn, Tia, Christian, Tony, Martese, Ceree, Richard

Being yourself,
Singing with open mouths,
Their strong melodious songs.
The smell of pizza, Popeye’s, White Castle
McDonald’s.
I am the darker brother.
They’ll see how beautiful I am.
Put aside the race differences
And stand as one to face and fight
A common enemy.
All of us singing America
The whole hemispheric familia.
America looks great
And messed up.
We need each other’s talents
To continue prospering in life.
From hip-hop to country
To pop music.
I, too, am America.
We can make America beautiful.

screen-shot-2017-02-06-at-11-03-12-am

America
Jasper, Lucas, Mya, Jaleah, Paul, Keshawn, D’Avion

The whole hemispheric familia.
Singing with open mouths
Their strong melodious songs.
Each singing what belongs to him or her
And to none else.
I, too, sing America.
But now I sit here in the silence.
But I laugh.
What has America become?
A melting ground of greed
And downfall.
I am the darker brother.
I hear America singing
The loud police sirens
I hear
And the loud screams drift off into the air.
We flush our toilets with cleaner water
Than families in Flint, Michigan drink.
I know it’s been said before
But not in this voice.
They’ll see how beautiful I am.
Grow like sea weeds
But it’s called beautiful height.
Beautiful height, beautiful height.
Stay out of the conflict America,
The crosshairs are aimed at your head.

screen-shot-2017-02-06-at-11-11-23-am

America Has Not A Specific Title
Janei, Roneisha, Yasmiiah, Joseph, Riley

America is individually unique,
But together as one.
I am judged by someone that
Doesn’t know me.
People say God Bless America.
I know it’s been said before
But not in this voice.
I hear America singing.
I hear America singing,
The varied colors I hear.
To be American looks like
A beautiful meadow
With 318.9 million demons
Running through and through.
They don’t know what they’re destroying
They’re blinded by the lie
Of America.
Each singing what belongs to him
Or her
And to none else.
Singing with open mouths
Their strong melodious songs.
Besides, they’ll see
How beautiful I am
And be ashamed.
I am the darker brother.
They’ll see how beautiful my family is.
I, too, am America.
America is not us,
But we are America.

screen-shot-2017-02-06-at-11-24-13-am

America
Jakaleb

But tomorrow I’ll be at the table when company comes.
But I laugh and eat well
And grow strong.
It’s like having friends and family around
Like they don’t care.
A brother dies,
Another says man I swear.
All of us grow strong.
We leave long.
Just like a song.
Besides they will see how beautiful I am
And be ashamed.
As no one else talks to me
I sit in silence
Close my eyes
Think
Look around
It felt like I was being blindfolded.
Hearing strong words can hurt.
It’s love.
It’s like you wanna share a cover.
Pull and lug.

screen-shot-2017-02-06-at-11-26-24-am

America
James, Kristian, Elijah, Taijah, Malique, Lanae

America has restarted.
America is hard.
I hear most people
Arguing outside my window.
Being American should mean
Being free
And not being judged.
It should mean we are caring
To everyone
Colored
Or not.
It’s feels like a breeze blowing freely on a summer night.
America is biracial.
They’ll see how beautiful I am
And be ashamed.
I hear America singing,
The varied carols.
Singing with open mouths.
Their strong melodious songs.
The whole hemispheric familia.
I know it’s been said before
But not in this voice.
Let America be America again.
It’s my turn to oh say what I see.

screen-shot-2017-02-06-at-11-34-49-am

Land of the Free, Home of the Brave
Nuri, Key-Key, Sydney, Shamaria, Vaughn, Clint

I hear America singing.
Singing with open mouths,
Their strong melodious songs.
Bass so loud you can feel it
In your heart.
Give us that Latin beat.
It’s my turn to oh say what I see,
It’s my turn to oh say what I see,
I’m going to sing America,
With all America inside me.
Singing our brown skin.
What belongs to the day–
At night the party of young fellows
Robust
Friendly.
They’ll see how beautiful I am
And I grow strong.
I, too, am America.

screen-shot-2017-01-20-at-1-20-41-pm

We Are America!
Amara, Lila, Xia, Brianna, Patrick, Sarai, MaKayla, Jessica

I hear America singing,
The varied carols I hear.
I know it’s been said before
But not in this voice.
They’ll see how beautiful I am
And be ashamed.
Let us go back into history.
More than what the eyes can see.
Morenos, Chinos, gringos y latinos.
The whole hemispheric familia.
They’ll see that I’m no different
From them.
Nobody’ll dare say to me
You’re voice will never be heard.
Although the chains are off.
The door is locked.
Yo tambien soy America.

screen-shot-2017-02-06-at-11-38-19-am

From Singing Fluent Hawaiian to Fluent English
Elise, Mia, Sydney, Micah, Taylor, Jocelyn, Jermaine, Iian

Singing.
Singing out brown skin
Into that what and red and blue song.
Singing our different tones.
I know it’s been said before
But not in this voice.
America is a thanksgiving dinner
Full of diversity.
Tomorrow, I’ll be at the table when company comes.
My country tis of thee
Sweet land of irony.
Each singing what belongs to him or her
And none else.
I am the darker brother
I am the lighter sister.
Owao no American Oiaku
The day what belongs to the day
At night to the party of robust fellows.
Yo tambien soy American
I, too, am American.
America smells like a boy’s gym locker.

screen-shot-2017-02-06-at-11-46-52-am

The Lighter Side of Darkness
Amirah, Ace, Sarah, Myla, Bryanna, Shi’Yana, Alijah, Alexis

I know it’s been said before but not in this voice
Watashi g utau America
I, too, sing America
I am the lighter side of the darkness
Educating my brothers and sisters to sing the song of acceptance,
so we can chant “L’ Chaim!” (to life!) as one healed nation
At dawn the voices of the brave, loyal, free
singing our brown skin into that white, red, and blue flag
With a voice just as strong
Maybe they’ll wonder who’s singing
“America, the country built on liberty,”
Yo tambien soy America
I, too, am America

screen-shot-2017-02-06-at-11-50-46-am

Someday America
Elizabeth, Aniyah, Isabelle, Michael, Jade, Rachel

I’ll no longer be that ugly kid
Nobody’ll dare say to me, “Eat in the kitchen.”
They’ll see how beautiful I am.
This is the song of America we don’t sing.
The song of extraordinary women.
America is full of people who will judge you for who you are
Each singing what belongs to him or her and no one else.
We do not know acceptance
America is spelled ameri-KKK-a born in the mind as slaves.
To be the foundation of racism is embarrassing.
Someday America will become as one
Because I’m American I’m expected to be loud.
Singing with open mouths their strong melodious songs
Everyone can be America
“I’m going to sing, America!”
I, too, sing America

Leave a Reply

