A Poem A Day

Here is another poem shared during our poetry slam:

screen-shot-2016-09-28-at-7-56-19-am

Blueprint for Africans

I have a dream that
black people will be economically independent
from Europeans.

I have a dream that
black people all across the world in the diaspora
will become one with each other.

I have a dream that
black people
will not have to rely on non-Africans for
food, clothing, water, and shelter.

I have a dream that
black people will make more black wall streets
and achieve the goal of being economically independent
from non-African people.

I have a dream that
every African in the world
will raise the banner of Pan Africanism and the flag,
red, black, and green.

I have a dream that
black teachers, black educators
will teach and nurture the next generation
of black students.

I have a dream that
black children
will not have to go to all white schools
and go through racism,
white supremacy
everyday.

I have a dream that
Africans will have solidarity
and not be plagued by petty differences
that divide our community already.

I have a dream that
we will follow Dr. King’s and
Frederick Douglass’s
dream
of pan-Africanism
and not beg for another people’s approval
at the end of the day concerning ourselves.

I have a dream that
everything black people do will be dedicated
to the restoration of confidence
in ourselves.

I have a dream that
black people
will answer the call of Margaret Walker
and she says
Let a new peace begin
Let us break out a new convenant of freedom for ourselves. 

And black people say
Sister Margaret
We have heard your call. 

 

Leave a Reply

