Four Villanelles

A villanelle is a nineteen-line poem with two rhymes throughout, consisting of five tercets and a quatrain, with the first and third lines of the opening tercet recurring alternately at the end of the other tercets and with both repeated at the close of the concluding quatrain.

Got that?

Check out this villanelle, The Waking, set to music by Kurt Elling. 

Here are four villanelles by GCAA writers:

screen-shot-2016-09-16-at-7-46-36-am

So Confused

Don’t test me I do have a fuse,
Get to know me and you’ll see
I’m outspoken yet so confused.

Personality I always amuse
So nice yet deadly I can be
Don’t test me I do have a fuse.

How I feel I will always give you cues
You will never understand me
Cuz I’m outspoken yet so confused.

When I’m sad, you’ll never know I have the blues
Testing me is not the key
Remember don’t test me I have a fuse.

Any argument you’ll always lose
I know everything I seem to plea
So outspoken yet so confused.

Keep trying you’ll lose your screws
An unknown force of nature I can be
But in the future don’t test me I have a fuse.
Crazy outspoken yet so confused.

screen-shot-2016-09-16-at-7-48-40-am

Love and War

I am forever buried in the desolation left by Love,
The side effect of its misleading light,
Trailing tears of a witness, never disposed of.

Ties snipped like the wings of a caged dove,
The dull pain of knowing it will never be right,
I am forever buried in the desolation left by Love.

Tension slipped over us like a latex glove,
Devoid of reassurance was my lonely plight,
Trailing tears of a witness, never disposed of.

Walking through a house as alien as space above,
Trapped alone in the ever enclosing night,
I am forever buried by the desolation of Love.

A distantness invaded and through our home did it shove,
Raging beast of words that I could not smite,
Trailing tears of a witness, never disposed of.

They always told me, “It’s us, not you, love.”
Yet I always seemed to be the center of the fight.
I am forever buried by the desolation left by Love.
Trailing tears of a witness, never disposed of.

screen-shot-2016-09-16-at-7-51-17-am

Screaming Silence

Silence fills the air
I stay in my head
Rarely do I ever share

They act like they don’t care
My patience is on a single thread
Silence fills the air

Speaking…. I don’t dare
I just leave everything unsaid
Rarely do I ever share

The tears flow but they are unaware
They won’t listen till I’m on my deathbed
Silence fills the air

Being unheard is my nightmare
No one hears every word I shed
Rarely do I ever share

Them listening is rare
I just feel misld
Silence fills the air
Rarely do I ever share

screen-shot-2016-09-16-at-7-48-40-am

What Is Love?

If it’s real, it’s got to last
Love is a tricky thing
Maybe we was moving too fast

Distress covered in a happy mask
I saw years, it seemed you saw a fling
If it’s real, it’s got to last

If it’s real I shouldn’t have to ask
I shouldn’t have hoped for a ring
Maybe we was moving too fast

You acted like loving me was a hard task
If the actions don’t meet the words, what do they mean
If it’s real, it’s got to last

I loved you like I love cash
You acted like saying I love you felt like a bee sting
Maybe we was moving too fast

Was hurting me a blast?
You made me hate this love thing
If it’s real, it’s got to last
Maybe we was moving too fast

Leave a Reply

