Villanelles

“A villanelle has five 3 lines and one 4 lives at the end. Villanelles has a and b rhyming pattern; so all the a’s rhyming with all the other a’s, and all the b’s rhyming will all the other b’s. Limitations are as far as the readers can understanding and creativity is making anything sound so beautiful.”

– C.W.

An example of a villanelle poem is, “Do Not Go Gentle into That Good Night” by Dylan Thomas.


“The Love is Strong”

The love is strong

Taking its time to set

Love can be wrong

Memories that sing like songs

Some tunes we can’t forget

The love is strong

Fear and anxiety push me along

You pick me up out of your dust

Love can be wrong

I think about you all day long

Lies turn to lust

The love is strong

Trying to disappear from where I don’t belong

I wish to say that I regret

Love can be wrong

We tried to force it to prolong

But we met sides we’ve never met

The love is strong

But love can be wrong.

A.P.


“Good-bye for Now”

I say good-bye for now

As we go our separate ways

We’ll see each other soon, I don’t know how

This is my vow

To come back in a few days

I say good-bye for now

Some tears I will allow

A memories replay

We’ll see each other soon, I don’t know how

Leaving you without a sound

I’m counting the days

I say good-bye for now

I still see your face, looking down

Wishing that the plane would delay

We’ll see each other soon, I don’t

I still see your face, looking down

Wishing that the plane would delay

We’ll see each other soon, I don’t know how

Please let this not be the end, with a frown

Why tears could fill bays

I say good-bye for now

We’ll see each other soon, I don’t know how.

C.W.


“In the Eyes of Her”

My heart is pulling my mind in so many directions

Seems like no matter what I decide, someone will end in tears

This crazy roller coaster of love doesn’t come with instruction.

In no way am I looking for perfection

don’t we all want someone that wants us for who we are and just caves

It’s just my heart is pulling my mind in so many directions.

Maybe this is just me yearning for some attention

as I sit here as my make-up smears

this is crazy roller coaster of love doesn’t come with instructions.

Each path I decide to travel seems to have life changing decisions

each one comes with its own set of fears

and my heart is pulling my mind in so many directions.

It bleeds with sorrow because I still have so many questions

questions for the men, questions for myself and questions for above in my prayers

Why doesn’t this crazy roller coaster of love come with instructions.

I guess it’s time for me to accept I may never know my destination

all I can do is hope that when I decide who I want in my life, they want me in theirs

My heart is pulling my mind in so many directions

and this crazy roller coaster of love doesn’t come with directions.

J.B.


“Stay Active”

I won’t last long

It’s a struggle to stay alive

in this world so wrong

You were right all along

I have lost my strive

I won’t last long

Please listen to the song

The one that keeps you alive

In this world so wrong

I do not belong

I need to go for a drive

I won’t last last long

Can I tag along?

I want to bring back your thrive

In this world so wrong

I am not strong

and I don’t want to live

I won’t last long

in this world so wrong

A.P.


“College”

Am I ready to go off on my own?

College seems so far, but yet it’s so close.

Will I feel all alone?

Trying to find these answers is like a dog looking for a bone

the thought is haunting like a ghost

Am I ready to go off on my own?

I’m calling all my college friends on the phone

will I pick a college in the east or west coast

will I feel all alone?

Thinking about it makes me groan.

It’s very complicated at the most.

Am I ready to go off on my own?

Thinking about it lets me know how much I’ve grown

St. Louis I guess it’s time to say adios.

Will I feel all alone?

I guess it’s time to be strong.

It’s time for a new host.

Am I ready to go off on my own?

Will I feel all alone.

T.T.


“Once Black”

I once was black

now i’m plain

white people came and attacked.

My people hang from tress. How whack?

Master changed my mothers name to Jane.

I once was black.

Black skin, like diamonds, don’t crack .

Thick curly hair, lions mane.

White people came and attacked.

My people treated like jack

left out in the rain

I once was black.

All the hatred and violent acts

They go and came

White people came and attacked.

Replace my black men, fathers with lumber jacks

centuries of pain

I once was black

white people came and attacked.

R.T.


“I Thought”

I thought he was my soulmate.

Our love was like a lite fire.

I thought it was destiny, but really it wasn’t fate.

It breaks my heart to know he and I will never

elevate to cohabitate.

His love still send trembles up my naked spine

with desire.

I thought it was destiny, but it really wasn’t fate.

All he knew how to do is regulate.

My mind, see how he did that! With the money, the cars and key to the house of  my dreams.

They sparked the fire.

I thought he was my soulmate.

What really was a trip when he decided to separate

her legs in my bed. I knew then his love was no

longer required.

I thought it was destiny, but it really wasn’t fate.

All this heart break. I pray to god help me rejuvenate.

I need a new love, would anyone like to be hired?

I thought he was my soulmate .

I thought it was destiny, but it really wasn’t fate.

K.B.


“Gone to Soon”

You didn’t believe me when I said I’ll be by your side

I guess I lost you

I sat back and watched you die.

Remember when I saw you using the needle to get high

I said stop, but you just wanted to do you

You didn’t believe me when I said I’ll be by your side.

I told you to quit and you said would try

I guess the drugs got to you

I sat back and watched you die

I was there when they left you hanging like clothes that needed

a dry

Everyday to check up I called you and you lied and said you were fine like you usually do

you didn’t believe me when I said I’ll be by your side.

Now standing over your grave all I can do is cry

You was my homeboy, best friend, and my brother too

I sat back and watched you die.

They got you hooked on that white shit but I was there to ride

But you pushed me away like you never even knew

you didn’t believe me when I said I’ll be by your side

I sat back and watched you die.

D.H.


Leave a Reply

