Anaphora

“An anaphora poem is using repetition of the first(s) of the beginning of a phrase. It is used when a writer wants to make a strong point and wants their words to be remembered. A challenge that I faced while writing my poem is the feeling I had while writing it. When you write about something so deep that someone isn’t really used to write to talking about is hard. I almost considered changing the subject to something not as emotional, but I stuck with it.”

– A.P.


“I Respect You”

You said, “I respect you,” when we talked and talked and talked for 3 hours on the phone

You said, “I respect you,” as you gave me the movies called, “Back to the Future.”

You say, “I respect you,” proving that you care about me as you comfort me as I cried.

You say, “I respect you,” when you hold my hand tight.

You say, “I respect you,” when your hands go places that they shouldn’t go.

You say, “I respect you,” as I tell you no and stop yet you go.

You say, “I respect you,” as you killed me inside with the actions you’re proud of.

You say, “I respect you,” saying, ” I will always be in our life.”

You said, “I respect you.”

C.W.


“Fade Away”

Never forget the two towers that fell that day.

Never forget the west side of the pentagon burning away.

Never forget the smoke filled sky that was scary and grey. For we never want to let that happened to us, fade away.

Never forget the 2,996 deaths that were pit on display.

Never forget the four passenger planes that were flown astray.

Never forget the heroism the law enforcement and firefighters wanted to portray, For we never want to let that happened to us, fade away.

Never forget how the world was thrown onto dismay.

Never forget the 19 hijackers message they wanted to convey.

Never forget to love your friends and family because we don’t know our last day, for we never want to let that happened to us, fade away.

J.B.


Uncap the pen and write a poem,

uncap the pen and change a life,

uncap the pen and write.

Uncap the pen and draw love,

uncap the pen and make hate,

uncap the pen and sketch a man,

uncap the pen and give him life.

Just,

uncap the pen and go.

D.S.


Being a young adult can be stressful.

Being a young adult feels like you gave already been for 60 years.

Being a young adult means buying your own car, paying your own bills.

Being a young adult seems like fun and games.

J.G

Leave a Reply

